CBO’s Panel of Economic Advisers, 2023

Posted by
Phill Swagel
June 8, 2023

The Congressional Budget Office relies on many outside experts. For example, we work with our Panel of Economic Advisers to learn about important analytical issues in the advisers’ areas of expertise and to obtain feedback about the agency’s economic forecast. In addition, from time to time during the year, CBO calls on members of the panel for advice about how to address analytical questions that arise when preparing studies and cost estimates. Although such experts provide considerable assistance, CBO is solely responsible for the accuracy of its work.

Members of the panel generally serve two-year terms and can be reappointed. Today I would like to announce the current members of the Panel of Economic Advisers:

  • Katharine Abraham
  • Alan Auerbach
  • Markus Brunnermeier
  • Seth Carpenter
  • Steven Davis
  • Kathryn Dominguez
  • Karen Dynan
  • Robert Hall
  • Jan Hatzius
  • Donald Kohn
  • Gregory Mankiw
  • Giuseppe Moscarini
  • Emi Nakamura
  • Jonathan Parker
  • James Poterba
  • Valerie Ramey
  • Joshua Rauh
  • Ayșegül Șahin
  • James Stock
  • Kevin Warsh
  • Mark Zandi

Members of CBO’s Panel of Economic Advisers are selected to represent a variety of perspectives, enabling the agency to gather information and insights from experts with diverse views as well as from the interactions between those experts at periodic panel meetings. The panelists’ affiliations are shown on CBO’s website. CBO requires panelists to disclose to the agency any substantial political activity in which they may be involved and any significant financial interests that they may have.

Phillip L. Swagel is CBO’s Director.