

Legislation to Name United States Post Offices As reported by the Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs on February 6, 2024			
By Fiscal Year, Millions of Dollars	2024	2024-2029	2024-2034
Direct Spending (Outlays)	*	*	*
Revenues	0	0	0
Increase or Decrease (-) in the Deficit	*	*	*
Spending Subject to Appropriation (Outlays)	0	0	0
Increases <i>net direct spending</i> in any of the four consecutive 10-year periods beginning in 2035?	No	Statutory pay-as-you-go procedu	ures apply? <b>No</b>
		Mandate Effects	
Increases <i>on-budget deficits</i> in any of the four consecutive 10-year periods beginning in 2035?	No	Contains intergovernmental mar	ndate? No
		Contains private-sector mandate	e? No
The table above applies to each bill separately, as described below; * = between zero and \$500,000.			

On February 6, 2024, the Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs reported the following 12 bills that would name different post offices:

- H.R. 292, an act to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 24355 Creekside Road in Santa Clarita, California, as the "William L. Reynolds Post Office Building";
- H.R. 996, an act to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 3901 MacArthur Blvd. in New Orleans, Louisiana, as the "Dr. Rudy Lombard Post Office";
- H.R. 2379, an act to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 616 East Main Street in St. Charles, Illinois, as the "Veterans of the Vietnam War Memorial Post Office";
- H.R. 3944, an act to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 120 West Church Street in Mount Vernon, Georgia, as the "Second Lieutenant Patrick Palmer Calhoun Post Office";



- S. 2143, a bill to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 320 South 2nd Avenue in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, as the "Staff Sergeant Robb Lura Rolfing Post Office Building";
- S. 2274, a bill to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 112 Wyoming Street in Shoshoni, Wyoming, as the "Dessie A. Bebout Post Office";
- S. 2717, a bill to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 231 North Franklin Street in Greensburg, Indiana, as the "Brigadier General John T. Wilder Post Office";
- S. 3267, a bill to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 410 Dakota Avenue South in Huron, South Dakota, as the "First Lieutenant Thomas Michael Martin Post Office Building";
- S. 3357, a bill to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 5120 Derry Street in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, as the "Hettie Simmons Love Post Office Building";
- S. 3419, a bill to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 1765 Camp Hill Bypass in Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, as the "John Charles Traub Post Office";
- S. 3639, a bill to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 2075 West Stadium Boulevard in Ann Arbor, Michigan, as the "Robert Hayden Post Office"; and
- S. 3640, a bill to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 155 South Main Street in Mount Clemens, Michigan, as the "Lieutenant Colonel Alexander Jefferson Post Office."

Cash flows for the Postal Service are recorded in the federal budget in the Postal Service Fund and are classified as off-budget direct spending. CBO estimates that naming those facilities would have no significant cost.

On July 21, 2023, CBO transmitted a cost estimate for H.R. 292, H.R. 996, H.R. 2379, and H.R. 3944, among others, as ordered reported by the House Committee on Oversight and Accountability on July 12, 2023. Both versions of those four pieces of legislation are the same as are CBO's estimates of the budgetary effects.

The CBO staff contact for this estimate is Matthew Pickford. The estimate was reviewed by H. Samuel Papenfuss, Deputy Director of Budget Analysis.

Phillip L. Swagel

Director, Congressional Budget Office