CBO's Panel of Economic Advisers

Posted on
November 4, 2011

CBO has a panel of economic advisers consisting of widely recognized experts on a range of issues. Members of the panel have a variety of backgrounds, areas of knowledge, and experience. We host periodic meetings of the advisers at our office and solicit their views between meetings via e-mail exchanges and telephone calls. Through these interactions, we benefit from the advisers’ understanding of cutting-edge research, macroeconomic developments, and economic policy. As a result, the quality of CBO’s analysis of many topics is greatly enhanced. (The agency also has a panel of health advisers.)

CBO’s economic advisers for 2011 are:

Raj Chetty, Ph.D.
Professor of Economics and Director of the Lab for Economic Applications and Policy
Harvard University

Menzie D. Chinn, Ph.D.
Professor of Public Affairs and Economics
Robert M. LaFollette School of Public Affairs
University of Wisconsin

Dan L. Crippen, Ph.D.
Executive Director
National Governors Association

Steven J. Davis, Ph.D.
William H. Abbott Professor of International Business and Economics
Booth School of Business
University of Chicago

Robert E. Hall, Ph.D.
Robert and Carole McNeil Hoover Senior Fellow and Professor of Economics
Stanford University

Jan Hatzius, Ph.D.
Chief U.S. Economist
Goldman Sachs & Co.

Douglas Holtz-Eakin, Ph.D.
American Action Forum

Simon Johnson, Ph.D.
Ronald A. Kurtz (1954) Professor of Entrepreneurship and Professor of Global Economics and Management
Sloan School of Management, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Senior Fellow
Peterson Institute for International Economics

Charles I. Jones, Ph.D
STANCO 25 Professor of Economics
Graduate School of Business
Stanford University

Anil Kashyap, Ph.D.
Edward Eagle Brown Professor of Economics and Finance
Booth School of Business
University of Chicago

Lawrence Katz, Ph.D.
Elisabeth Allison Professor of Economics
Harvard University

Donald Kohn, Ph.D.
Senior Fellow, Economic Studies Program
The Brookings Institution

Rudolph G. Penner, Ph.D.
Arjay and Frances Miller Chair in Public Policy and Institute Fellow
The Urban Institute

Adam S. Posen, Ph.D.
External Member
Monetary Policy Committee of the Bank of England
Senior Fellow
Peterson Institute for International Economics

James Poterba, Ph.D.
Mitsui Professor of Economics
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
President and CEO
National Bureau of Economic Research

Joel Prakken, Ph.D.
Macroeconomic Advisers

Carmen M. Reinhart, Ph.D.
Dennis Weatherstone Senior Fellow
Peterson Institute for International Economics

Alice Rivlin, Ph.D.
Senior Fellow, Economic Studies and
Director, Greater Washington Research
Brookings Institution

Robert Shimer, Ph.D.
Alvin H. Baum Professor in Economics and the College
University of Chicago

Matthew Slaughter, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for the MBA Program, Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth
Signal Companies' Professor of Management

Stephen P. Zeldes, Ph.D.
Benjamin M. Rosen Professor of Economics and Finance
Graduate School of Business
Columbia University