Media Advisory: CBO at 40

You are cordially invited to join in commemorating the 40th anniversary of the establishment of the Congressional Budget Office


Douglas W. Elmendorf, Director

Opening Remarks

The Honorable Tom Price
The Honorable Chris Van Hollen
The Honorable Rob Portman
The Honorable Bernie Sanders


Alice Rivlin, Founding Director

Panel Discussion

A panel of former Congressional Budget Office directors will discuss CBO’s past
and future. The panelists will also respond to questions from the audience.


Alice M. Rivlin, Director 1975-1983

Senior Fellow, Brookings Institution

Rudolph G. Penner, Director 1983-1987

Senior Fellow, Urban Institute

Robert D. Reischauer, Director 1989-1995

President Emeritus, Urban Institute

June E. O’Neill, Director 1995-1999

Professor of Economics, Baruch College

Dan L. Crippen, Director 1999-2003

Executive Director, National Governors Association

Douglas Holtz-Eakin, Director 2003-2005

President, American Action Forum

Peter R. Orszag, Director 2007-2008

Vice Chairman of Corporate and Investment Banking, Citigroup

Closing Remarks



For questions about the event, please contact Deborah Kilroe at 202-226-2602 or